White Chili Recipe/Day 2 of the purge

I have a problem… Sometimes when I get to the grocery store and realize I didn’t put something on my list I wonder if it’s because I forgot I needed it or I already have it.  So I  buy it, just in case.

I just cleaned out my pantry, mainly because there was no system. Any food that didn’t belong in the fridge went in the pantry when I put away groceries. I currently have 10 cans of beans in my pantry, why you ask? I make a white chili every few weeks. It’s easy to make a huge crock pot full and use for lunches when I’m working and Jon loves it so he gets his very own Tupperware container of it every time I make it. I never remember to check which white beans I have before I go to the store and then buy more. I have more chickpeas than any human should have. I’ve now created stacks of bean types in my pantry so I can take a quick survey when I’m planning on making it…my guess is I won’t be needing beans any time soon.

Regardless, the pantry is cleaned out now and I thought I share with you the glorious recipe of white chili. Adapted somewhere from long ago:
image

Ingredients:

  • 1 16 oz. jar of salsa (your preference on spice or flavor)
  • 1 14 oz. can of chicken broth
  • Around a pound of chicken breasts
  • 5-6 cans of any white bean of your choosing (I love Navy beans, butter beans, and chickpeas)
  • 1 8 oz. bag of shredded cheese (jack, queso cheese or if you like a little heat pepper jack)

Directions:

1.)Dump everything in the crock pot EXCEPT the cheese. Cook on high for 4-5 hours or on low for 6-8 hours. Check your chicken periodically. Once it starts falling apart you’re all set.

2.)Shred the chicken. I use 2 forks and usually pull it out of the pot shred it and dump it back in.

3.)Pour cheese in and let cook until melted.

4.) Eat it. Eat it all. I love putting avocado on top or putting crushed tortilla chips on top.

Leave a comment