Core Desired Feelings- 2016

If you have not read Desire Map by Danielle LaPorte, I HIGHLY recommend it. After quite the year of ups and downs I decided to take her approach to resolutions. Not setting specific goals, but identifying how you want to feel and deciding what you need to feel that way. The book includes the first part, describing what core desired feelings are and then a workbook to help you figure out your personal desired feelings.

Does this sound hippie-ish/ self-helpy? Yes. Maybe it is. I just know it is quite the cathartic and inspiring process. You have a lot of “Hell Yes!” moments going through the process. You also have to be real honest with yourself. Again, I highly recommend it.

I’m going to get personal with you all and share my core desired feelings and some of the writing process that took place while I was working through it. This took a couple of weeks to work through.

My six core desired feelings I’ll be focusing on this year are:

  • Turned-on
  • Light-hearted
  • Connected
  • Creative
  • Blissful
  • Inspired

Let me explain what each one means to me because I’m sure some of you may have different definitions of them and that is totally alright!

Turned-on: I want to be engaged and turned-on to all things in life. I want to feel all my emotions, I want to listen to my body, I want to experience life to it’s fullest.

Light-hearted: I want to let go of control. Play, laugh, enjoy the small moments. I realize a lot of my stress is a choice.

Connected: I want to form stronger relationships with friends and family. I want to feel connected to myself so I can listen to what my heart is saying. We all know that was a struggle for me last year.

Creative: I want to create again. I want to write regularly and not always in blog form. I want to make time and space for creation in my life. There used to be and I’ve lost that.

Blissful: I want to feel overwhelming joy in moments of my life. I want to appreciate the small moments. I want to let go a little to feel joy and pleasure.

Inspired: This one kind of ties all of them together. I want to experience new things that will inspire me. Inspire me to grow, change and do.

Below are some photos taken of my journal to help me think through how I will be able to attain these core desired feelings. They are color coded by area of life…because that’s who I am. I love color coding.
image

image

image

image

How do you want to feel this year? Again, please check out Desire Map by Danielle LaPorte. I really think it’s quite an amazing way to think about “goal setting.”

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

